One Most-Asked Question: What is My Spiritual Path?

The Answer

Sunrise

      One question I am most often asked is: What is my spiritual path?  There are many variations on this theme as well.  Some examples are:  How do I find my spiritual path?  What is my mission, my purpose?  I feel like I am here to do something special, but I don’t know what that is.   Sometimes I can hear the anguish of their uncertainty in their voices.  And always my response is the same:  you are here.  Incarnated at this time.  Your Soul knows your purpose, your mission.  You, at personality level, do not have the same expanded viewpoint as your knowing, (sometimes called Higher) Self, but you can learn  to quiet that part I call the ‘little Self’ in order to allow the ‘greater Self’ to begin to come more into your conscious awareness.

     Our little minds want to categorize and separate and label things.  It’s how the brain works.  We clump similar things together, and most of our responses to situations are based upon the lightning fast decisions made by the brain.  Most of our living of life is actually unconscious and automatic.  I am not knocking physical existence.  I am merely pointing out that the very experience of that existence IS your path, your purpose, your mission.

Your life is your spiritual path.  The two are not separate.      

      I will concede here that it certainly can feel as if they are two different things, especially when you have what is called an awakening.  During that process, a person can reach the conclusion that the two things are separate because the brain does not have a context or a category to lump these often totally new and different  experiences into, and so our consciousness reaches the conclusion that this spiritual stuff must be something different from our ‘regular’ life.  And often what will happen is we tend to fall back into our comfortable habit patterns wherever possible, thus leaving behind those experiences we could not find a proper place for in our awareness.  And that is the most unfortunate thing of all, for we have just missed a stellar opportunity to step into consciousness and to live our lives from a higher perspective.

     Your life contains your lessons.  How you live your life is the lesson.  In the early days of my process, I wanted to understand it all, and I wanted to know it now.  I will say that I quickly learned that my physical brain did not have the capacity to properly integrate and categorize all that there was to be known.  I decided to take a different approach after much trial and error.  I  continue to operate from that position today.  It’s pretty simple, actually, but requires that I be still and listen for guidance before I act, and that continues to be a challenge.

     I will get quiet and ask one simple question:  “What do I need to do next?”  Then I wait for a response.  The answer may come in many ways.  It could be a thought I have, or just a feeling.  I do my best to do what comes to me as a result of this process first, then I will concentrate on the mental ‘to do’ list that is always in my mind.   I have a long list of items on that list today, as a matter of fact, but writing this was what I needed to do next when I asked that question, so I put it first.  The rest of that list will get done as well, because that’s how this seems to work, at least for me.

     The other piece to this spiritual path question requires discipline and an intention to be honest with yourself, which is not easy sometimes.  As you move into a space where your heart desires to learn the truth about who you really are, one of the gifts that will come to you are all the things about you that are not who you really are.  Just understand that it is a process, a life long one, I suspect, and that as long as you are willing to look at, and work through, all those things that are not you, you will continue to uncover the diamond that  is your bright, shining Spirit.  And you will do it by living your life to the best of your ability.  And just remember this:  you are perfect just the way you are.  There are no mistakes, only lessons.  And you have come to learn and grow as Soul at a pivotal time in the unfolding of the Universe.  Take advantage of this opportunity.

There’s a part of every living thing that wants to become itself, the tadpole into the frog, the chrysalis into the butterfly, a damaged human being into a whole one.  That is spirituality. ~Ellen Bass

All original material published on this site is copyright 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

6 thoughts on “One Most-Asked Question: What is My Spiritual Path?

  1. Wonderful! Thank you for this eloquent answer to a question that is frequently posed to me and that I myself ask. I came upon your blog at just the right time, but isn’t that how it always works?
    Many Blessings to you and your work here, it is VERY insightful! 🙂
    Leacy T.

    • Every day, the responses are a generous gift that propels me forward. Thank you for your kind words. I am grateful that I was able to be of assistance to you. Perhaps you will come visit again. In Light, JulieMarie

    • Funny how that works. Was going to write about something else, and I had even started a draft of the topic. But this was what I was to do first. Sometimes timing IS everything.

Comments are closed.