How It’s Really Designed to Work

Everybody Wins

I started out writing about something else today, but couldn’t fight the urge to just tell you a story.  So here’s the one that wants  to be told now.

View looking towards the Black Elk Wilderness ...

View looking towards the Black Elk Wilderness in the Black Hills, South Dakota, USA. Horsethief Lake can be seen in the foreground. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I moved to the Black Hills of South Dakota, I learned a very profound lesson that reinforced my intention to just keep following guidance to the best of my ability whether I understood it or not.

I took a Spirit-led drive to South Dakota while I was living in Twin Bridges, Montana.  The town that was pulling on me was Custer.  I drove there, and did what I have learned to do over the years:  I went to the local store as purchased a newspaper.  If I am in the right place, then there will be an appropriate place to rent available, no matter the size of the town or the rental availability in the area.

The house that jumped out at me was for rent through Century 21.  I made arrangements to see it, and signed the contract for rent before I left town.  It was a big place, larger than I needed, but the rent was well within my price range.  I thought the large space downstairs was going to be used as a gathering place for people.  It turns out it never was used for that, but for God’s own purposes, I needed to live there for a few months.

Sometimes, I am impressed to just get in my car and take a drive. Right after I moved to the area, I had the strong urge to take a drive.  I thought I was just going exploring.  It was a crispy November morning – it was my birthday, actually – and I felt the familiar tugging that meant I was to get the keys and go for a drive.

As I started driving around, I could feel my awareness shifting a bit, which meant I needed to pay attention to  the subtle directions I was being given. I call this going with the flow, and I understand that there is a definite “flow” to our lives that is the optimum path for us to take, but that is a story for another day.

I drove around for almost an hour, wandering up and down the many hard-packed dirt roads that wind their way through the Black Hills.  I had the fleeting thought that maybe a certain piece of property that I had been searching for off and on might be located in this area as the elevation was right, and other topographical features were correct here too.

As I drove down one road in particular, I saw a dark brown object in the road, and heard very clearly in my mind the words: “Pick it up.”

“Eeewwwwww,” I thought in response as I kept right on driving. This happened to be a dead-end road, so when I came to the end, I had no choice but to go back the way I had come. Which meant I had to pass that object again.

As I approached it, I heard the same voice say the same thing: “Pick it up.” This time I stopped, and gave thanks that I had just put some extra trash bags in the car.  I just knew it was a dead animal, or something like that.

I grumbled to myself as I made my way towards the object, bag in hand.  As I got close to it, I could see it was a buffalo hoof with some of the hair still on it.  It looked as if the hoof had been severed at the joint just above it.  How it got there is beyond me, but I knew it was for me.  It was my birthday, after all.

“So this is my birthday present?” I thought as I scooped it up and wrapped the bag closed.  “What the heck am I supposed to do with a buffalo hoof?”  I still have the hoof.  It was a gift from Spirit, after all.

As I came back to the main intersection, I thought I would be headed home, but was pulled across the street and down yet another gravel road.  It was pretty strong, so I just went with it. It soon dead-ended in a quiet cul-de-sac.  As I sat in the car, I looked up at a beautiful log home among the trees. I could feel my heart open, and I had the thought that I would love to live in a house like that someday.  Then I turned back around, and headed back to the house with my buffalo hoof birthday gift.

A few months passed, and I found myself looking in the paper at rental ads.  Now that usually means I’m moving.  But I just moved, so what was up with this?  One that really caught my eye was an ad for a log home in the Custer area.  I had the hit to call about it, so I did.

To my surprise, the agent representing the property was the same man from whom I had rented the place I was in.  I asked him if I could go look at it, not thinking I was going to take it or anything.  I just knew I needed to go look at it.

To my shock, it was the same log home I had seen on my birthday.  I loved the interior as much as the outside.  From the living room, I could see the face of Crazy Horse mountain.  It was peaceful and quiet.  I asked how much it was for the monthly rental.  I could live there.

The only thing was, I was in a year lease with the other property.  I spoke with the minister who owned it, and asked to be released from the contract.  He agreed.  I was now free to move into a beautiful home where some major personal spiritual work was done.

I had lived in this home through most of the winter, so the minister did not have to be worried about having his house empty during the cold months.

I found out from the agent that the people who had been living in that log home had gotten an offer for a better job in Colorado and it was too good to pass up.  They would have been liable for the rest of the lease if no new renter was found.  I was able to move into a home I could only have dreamed about because the minister let me out of my lease with him.

When I moved into the log home, the first couple was no longer on the hook for the balance of the lease.  I got a beautiful new place to live.  And so you are probably thinking but what about the minister? He’s left with an empty home.

No, he wasn’t.  The day I was loading up my things to move, a family who had been living in a motel because they couldn’t find a place big enough for all their kids came to look at the place I was leaving.  They moved in as soon as I was moved out.

So everybody did win. When I asked Spirit what the purpose of this experience was, I was told that it was to demonstrate how things could work here.  If we all were where we were supposed to be when we were supposed to be there, we all would have what we needed when we needed it.  I came to that place by just doing what I was moved to do next, not necessarily understanding why I was being asked to do it.

You never know what may be in store for you, what God would give you if you could just let go of that need to understand why you need to do something.  And that is my story for today.

The path you take is made by walking it.

All original material posted to this site is copyright 2012, Julie Marie.  All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “How It’s Really Designed to Work

  1. Awesome! Love this! I love when things work out like this, being in the flow, following Spirit! God’s dreams for us are always so much bigger than our own. This story is perfect for where I sit today. It was meant for me, I feel that very strongly. Thank you, lovely Julie!

Comments are closed.