A Non-Traditional Mother’s Day Post

On Giving Birth

Newborn child, seconds after birth. The umbili...

Newborn child, seconds after birth. The umbilical cord has not yet been cut. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was planning in my mind to write about the children we bear and how they are our greatest teachers, but when I sat down here, the whole concept of the process of giving birth would not stop nibbling at the edges of my consciousness.  The more I contemplated it, the more interested I became in where it was leading me.

The process of giving birth is about so much more than birthing a human being.

As a mother myself, I understand the process of preparing to give birth, the experience of the birth itself, and the subsequent years (the rest of your life) of being ‘mother’ to another human being.  To limit myself to this aspect alone would not cover much of the territory “giving birth”, however.

There are the mothers who are nurturing other people’s children for one reason or another.  And what about the females who are raising children they were not physically able to carry or birth? And then there are the women who, for whatever reason, choice or circumstance, have no children of their own.

There is also the other segment of the population not equipped to gestate another human life. What about the men?  Yes, they have their own day (Father’s Day) next month, but there is the same set of “What abouts” for them as well.

Do we all not have the capacity to give birth?  Yes, we do.  I am going to be brief today.  I want to say congratulations on giving birth to every thinker, writer, artist, inventor, entrepreneur who ever thought a thought or dreamed a dream and then had the courage to actually express or manifest it.

As a species, we are currently involved in the greatest birth of all:  the birth of the human race into something even grander.  When it will happen or what it will look like, I cannot even begin to imagine.  That is for us as a collective consciousness to determine.  If we can dream it, we can be it.

So, borrowing from one of the greatest thinkers and artists and writers of all time:

Imagine all the people, Living life in peace…                                                                            You may say I’m a dreamer, But I’m not the only one…                                                              I hope someday you will join us, And the world will live as One…

So imagine with everything in you, for just a breath or two of time, the world, Her people, in Peace.

Imagine There's No Hunger    -  Strawberry Fie...

Central Park, NYC (Photo credit: asterix611)

I have returned to a subject I just wrote about recently, didn’t I?  Logically, I’m certain this isn’t a good idea, but if I am to honor the way in which I am being asked to write this blog, then it remains as written.  I suspect the Spirit would have us be reminded.  And this IS an excellent day, energy-wise, to begin this Imagining Project.

We can use the energy of giving birth, the archetypal energy of new beginnings, to dream a new beginning for all of the children of the world, no matter their ages. Happy Mother’s Day.

You who have the Light, what are you doing with it? ~Paul Claudee

All original material posted to this site is copyright 2012, Julie Marie.  All rights reserved.

