Celebrate the Milestones in Your Life

A Good Way to Measure Your Progress

English: Old Milestone Old milestone on the A....

English: Old Milestone Old milestone on the A.134 near to Ampton, Suffolk. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

milestone: a significant event or stage in the life, progress, development or the like of a person, (or their blog).

May has been a month full of milestones for me, blog-wise and otherwise as well. I hadn’t been paying too much attention to the ticking over of the stats here, but then within a few days, three of the benchmarks hit personal goals I didn’t even realize I had.

Followers went over 100.  I have written 50 articles.  (This makes 51.) The number of views here is over 7,500 and climbing.  The Fibonacci  spiral of growth has moved from the growing “up” stage to the growing “out” stage.  I will take credit for the effort of writing the articles.

I want to express my deepest gratitude to you for being responsible for the biggest benchmark:  the 7,500+ views here.  You are the reason I continue to write.  I am still feeling my way through what most interests you, however, and will renew my invitation  to you to tell me what you would like to hear about.  (To those who did respond last time, I am working on it).

English: Old Milestone Old milestone near to H...

English: Old Milestone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have also reached some personal milestones in these past few weeks.  I am moving into a broader arena with my spiritual service work.  I almost feel that quantum jump is related to my willingness to put myself out into cyberspace with this blog. By taking that huge step, I told the Universe I was ready to reach out to more people, and now the opportunity to do just that has presented itself.

Now, just starting this blog would not have been enough to demonstrate I was ready for such change.  I had to also maintain the intent by continuing to write here on a regular basis.  So I set myself a specific goal, and despite some challenging circumstances in the past couple of months, have managed to consistently meet that self-imposed goal.  By my actions over a sustained period of time, I told the Universe I was indeed ready and able to make that change.

And now it appears that the universe is rearranging itself to fit the new picture of my reality.  I have heard that often said, but frankly didn’t truly understand what it meant.  Now I do.  In order to bring different experiences to ourselves, we must have the courage to step out of the little, limiting boxes we put our magnificent selves in.  The tragedy that I am only now beginning to understand is that we often don’t even know we’ve put ourselves in a box in the first place.

I also recently did something I never thought I would allow: I sat for professional photographs.  Yes, I was following guidance.  Yes, I thought I understood why I was being asked to have them done.  I am beginning to suspect that, just as with the blog, there are greater reasons for having these photographs taken.  I have shared with the person who did the work one layer of my experience, but there is more that is unfolding and I think that is just the beginning of something even greater.  I will share those insights here if it turns out it would be useful to you and your spiritual journey.

Acknowledging your milestones, whatever they may be, helps to make what is happening in your life more conscious.  And when you are more aware, you help with the change or progress that is happening because you are contributing your energy in an intentional way to the process.

I would encourage you to celebrate the milestones in your life, especially the small ones.  Give yourself credit for the effort you expended.  It could be a simple as getting the junk drawer in the kitchen cleaned out, or you stuck to your new eating or exercise plan for the past week (or even day).

Maybe you were able to be kind and courteous to the other drivers on the road during your commute when that is not your usual way of being.  The acknowledgement of the accomplishment will reinforce the positive pattern, thus changing how you relate to the world around you.

And the Universe will begin to rearrange itself to match your picture of reality. I promise.

The beauty of empowering others is that your own power is not diminished in the process. ~ Barbara Colorose

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Celebrate the Milestones in Your Life

  1. Thank you Julie for helping me learn how to achieve and then appreciate the milestones in my life. You are a gift in my life and I want you to know you are appreciated.

Comments are closed.