A Variation on a Theme

As I was continuing my snail’s pace decluttering this morning, I was thinking about a conversation I had recently.  That conversation, sort of, is the impetus for this post.

I have talked here about how we are being called forward to be more engaged on the level of our spiritual work. Some of us have been so eager to follow our guidance that we have put a lot of the proverbial irons into the fire with the result we now have too many of them in there.

For the past year or so, but especially in the past few months, I have been narrowing my interests a little at a time.  For example, I travel to various locations to do intuitive readings and visionary artwork.  In 2008-2009, I put about 50,000 miles on my car doing this.  I traveled from the center of the United States across the Mississippi  East to Nashville and Memphis in Tennessee, and all the way to Denver and Colorado Springs in the other direction.

I saw some beautiful places.

Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs

Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs

View of Pikes Peak from the University of Colo...

View of Pikes Peak from the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, sometime before 2008. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bennie Dillon Building, Nashville TN

Bennie Dillon Building, Nashville TN (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

                                      It was exciting.  Soon it became a drudge.  It got to the point that the mere thought of spending the time, energy and effort to organize my bins of things, load the car, drive to the location, UNload the car, set the booth up, go to the hotel room to sleep so I could get ready early in the morning to go sit IN the booth to work, work hard all weekend, then tear down everything, load it BACK into the car, and start the long drive home, was enough to make me want to go take a nap.

I’m exhausted just from writing that long, run on sentence. Yes, I know it’s not proper writing etiquette, but I wanted to make a point.  I think I did.

I spent some time looking at the amount of energy that went into doing the shows, especially the ones that required a long day of driving to get to the location, and decided I didn’t want to continue to work in that way.

I began to choose more carefully the events I would participate in.  I was still lugging around a lot of bins, however.  I  was still lifting and loading and unloading and setting up and tearing down and loading and unloading at the end of a trip.

Towards the end of last year, I decided enough was enough.  I began to trim down what I carried to the venues.  It was nice to just show up, do a (relatively) quick set up, and be ready to work.  And the blessing of being able to tear down in about 20 minutes was wonderful.  My attitude shifted as I lightened up.

I am gathering up excess books, clothing, craft materials and other ‘passing fancies’ in preparation for a massive sale.  Or it could end up being a huge giveaway if nobody shows for the event.  Either way, the excess ‘stuff’ must go!

English: stamp USA 1965 – 100 years Salvation Army

English: stamp USA 1965 – 100 years Salvation Army (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There is always the Salvation Army, Goodwill and the trash dump to help me clear it all out.  So why this massive clearing?

Why am I feeling like I need to clear the decks on all levels?  Because I have the strong sense I need to make room for something new.  More importantly, I have the overwhelming sense that all this excess baggage is exactly that:  excess baggage.

I have the urge to just toss it all in the dumpster and start over.  It’s holding me back, holding me down somehow.  And the longer it takes for me to clean up my act, the slower my spiritual progress will be.

Now, why is it this way at this time when it has never been like this before?  I still don’t have the answer for that one.  I have not experienced this level of ‘pushing’ from Spirit in a long time.  Maybe never, if I actually think about it.

But more certainly than ever before I can state unequivocally that NOW is the time.  And that the time to get this done is running out.  There is a definite due date with this ‘assignment’.  I better get busy.

I would be interested to know if anyone else out there has been experiencing this as well.  Have you dropped extra activities?  Have you quit groups or gatherings that feel like a waste of your precious time?  Are YOU overwhelmed by the urge to just throw it all away and start over?

While writing this piece, I actually clicked on one of the related articles suggestions, and was very pleasantly surprised when I went to visit the site before listing it here.  I would encourage anyone who is traveling this clean it all out path now to go take a look.  There is much of value on the blog, and it’s not just about cleaning out your clutter.  When I find something helpful, I will share it with you. This is something helpful.

Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself. ~ Tolstoy

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

