Morning Coffee – On Free Will

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...This morning as I sip my cup of coffee, I just want to say a few words about free will.  Much has been written about this, but I just want to share a few thoughts about my experience with free will.

Since the beginning of my spiritual journey, I have said the same prayer each and every morning as soon as my eyes open: ” I and my Father are one.  My Father’s Will be done.  Father, send to me those this day to whom I can best be of service in whatever way possible.”

And every day, this simple prayer is answered.

I ask every day to be shown what it is I am to do next.  And every day, in response to the guidance I receive, I do my best to carry out what I perceive to be that Higher Will.  Much of the time, it is not what my little will would have chosen to do, but every time I choose to follow, surrendering in the process my little will, I bring myself more in alignment with what it is God would have me do.

I do not know God’s timing, nor would I even begin to presume I understood what God’s plan is for my life.  But what I do know is that over the years, through the consistent choice of surrendering my will to the Higher Will, the Higher Will has supplanted my will.

Ask anyone who knows me, and they will tell you I am all about doing what ever it is God asks of me to the best of my ability, even when (actually, especially when), it conflicts with what I  want to be doing.

Do I grumble and complain?  Sometimes.  But most of the time I move forward in joy and anticipation, because I can hardly wait to see what God has in store for me next.

Many say we live in a free will zone, that free will is a gift that God gave to us so that we can learn and grow.  I agree.

However, I have also come to understand through my own life, that it is possible to use your free will choice to surrender your free will.

I’m going to repeat that because it is very important.  I have come to understand that it is possible to use your free will to choose to surrender your free will choice.

When you do, your will is to act in accordance with the direction of Higher Will.

Once you have surrendered your will, one might ask, can you choose to go back to the way it was before you did so?  I suppose, but I cannot answer that definitively one way or the other.  I am content to live my life in accord with that Higher Will, for I understand there’s a greater level of awareness at that consciousness than I am able to embody at this time.

I perceive myself to be that which I am: an instrument through which God expresses.  Therefore, may God’s Will be done through me each and every day.  And so it is.

Editorial comment: the framework of my upbringing is Catholic, hence the reference to God.  It is not my intention to be exclusive or to offend.  I simply choose to be more authentically who I am, and God is the name I call that higher power.

All original material posted to this site is (c)2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – On Free Will

  1. I have to commend you on your faith JM to be guided this way. I call it letting be what will be. Instead of doing battle with something I try to go with the flow.
    Maybe its not the same but it works for my higher good in the main I think.
    Blessing sent your way today. – Sue

    • The only difference I discern here is I am actively seeking to understand the higher will for my life. Where we are in total agreement is with the surrender to what is. Peace to you, Sue. ~JulieMarie

  2. I’ve found that I can try to make situations the way “I” want them to be, or I can let the thinking mind/ego drop and see things from the perspective of awareness/universal consciousness. Then what needs to be done is clearly ‘known’ (and it may not be what “I” want to do). As you point out, everyone has their framework, and I think we’re saying the same thing here……………..I’ve just re-read your post a few times before hitting ‘enter’, and I’m sure we’re saying the same thing.

    I will come back to this and enjoy it a few more times today 🙂

Comments are closed.