Morning Coffee – Love, the Most Powerful Force in the Universe

Up At 4 AM Today

So what do you do when you’re awakened at 4:00 AM and can’t go back to sleep?  Used to be, I’d toss and turn.  Now I come and write.

English: Screenshot of The Beatles from the U....

Although I don’t have my cup of coffee handy (I’m still hoping sleep will come in a little while) it is morning.  When I wondered what I should write about, I immediately heard the Beatles singing in my head.

Love, love, love.

One of the most important things I learned early on in this journey came from what I can only describe as a vision.  I saw myself in another time, in another place, likely another dimension.  I had the feeling I had been in darkness for what had seemed like forever.  When I expanded my awareness out in the darkness I could feel nothing but myself.  And I was alone.

Just as I brought all of myself back together, something from behind me dug long claws into my right shoulder, shredding it.  My immediate response (I was in a semi-crouched position at the time) was to roll away from the attacker and attempt to draw my sword.

I struggled, because it was my sword arm that was damaged.  I did get the sword out and prepared to attack, but as I raised the sword above my head, I heard very clearly one word: “HOLD!”  (I figure if this was just my imagination, I would’ve heard the word “stop”.)

I slowly lowered my sword, pointed the tip at the ground, and rested my hands on the hilt.  My opponent didn’t move, this beast I was facing.

Cheshire Cat vanishing (detail)

As I looked up into the eyes of this creature, recognition dawned.  I was looking into the eyes of myself.  And my heart opened up. As I stood there radiating love, I noticed the beast began to fade.  And as it faded, I found myself becoming stronger.  Soon, only the eyes remained.  It was like the Cheshire cat in the story of Alice in Wonderland.

And just as the eyes winked out, I heard I heard very clearly in my head:  Love is the most powerful force in the Universe.

And suddenly, with that awareness, I was no longer in that place.

I was awake when I had this experience, so I cannot call it a dream.  I do understand that symbolically that beast would’ve represented all my fear, my shadow, the parts of me I judged, and the parts of me I battle.

The sensation of the strengthening of myself when I loved that beast into nonexistence felt real, and to me was a demonstration of the power of love.  Love in its purest form.  Love that is mixed with generous amounts of compassion.

This is what you get when it’s a morning without the coffee!

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo Credits: Wikipedia

8 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – Love, the Most Powerful Force in the Universe

  1. Very nice, and very powerful, Julie Marie. I felt I was experiencing it as I read. 4am is definitely a good time for you to be writing posts! “I was awake when I had this experience, so I cannot call it a dream.” – I know what you mean, I’ve been there too.

    • This one was a bit tricky, but I’ve been so far out on that skinny branch lately 🙂 that caution was tossed to the wind. I have been on a writing BENDER today. Lots of ‘coffee’ ready to go, and the next two-part Foundation installment done. I hope nobody ‘upstairs’ gets the bright idea that 4AM should become a regular wake-up call…I think it’s all that inspiration that has been simmering for a couple of weeks. Had to get it out. Will be trotting over to your place for a quick visit, then off to exercise. I’m into working with balance these days, you know. Thanks for the feed back (support) on this one. Definitely was needed.

  2. Wow. That really spoke to me today. Thank you thank you thank you! Blessings to you. That was lovely and powerful.

    • I was feeling like taking a REALLY BIG leap. After all, it WAS 4AM. So I did. Glad I did. It was a powerful experience that happened almost 20 years ago, but still resonates with me. Thank you for visiting, and for taking the time to let me know how you received what I wrote. Encouragement is always gratefully accepted, and much appreciated. JM

Comments are closed.