The Free Gift

Sometimes a Gift is Just a Gift…Or Is It?

The Missouri River at Omaha, Nebraska, USA Pho...

The Missouri River at Omaha, Nebraska, USA Photo by Scott Redd (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m going to be asking for a little help with this one.  I had a very interesting experience last weekend, and I can feel there’s an insight there, but I haven’t  been able to pull it in yet.  So I’m going to put it out there to all of you with the hope that maybe you can see what I can’t.  But then again, maybe it’s just going to turn out that a gift is just a gift.  Just because.  And that’s OK too.

I spent this past weekend in Omaha, Nebraska.  I traveled up there because there is a neat group of ladies who are interested in learning how to make, or in some cases strengthen, the connection to Spirit.Since I  teach intuitive development, it’s a really good fit.

English: Omaha

Omaha (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The class ran all day, and we held it in an office space that one of the ladies had available. This office is in one of those industrial type Parks with multiple buildings and many users.

The day went really well.  I could see there were a lot of insights that were had, and it was a good exchange of ideas and energy.  I gave them some more tools for their spiritual toolbox, and encouraged the women to use them.  We started at 10 in the morning, and by the end of the day, it had been a long time since lunch.

The last 1½ hours or so of the day was taken up with a symbol exercise.  This is always interesting for the person who’s getting the information, but maybe not so interesting for the ones who are waiting to practice.  It’s a valuable exercise, because it gives the students an opportunity to use their intuitive skills. So, despite the fact that I could tell it was tedious and the group was getting tired, I made a decision to let everybody have their turn at getting a reading.

Just as we were finishing up, a young man in a Jimi John’s uniform with a square basket full of sample size sandwiches slung across his shoulder came knocking at the door. The timing of his arrival could not have been more perfect.  (Can you say ” synchronicity?”)

He had a confused look on his face, and asked if this was the main entrance.  He also announced that he’d brought the free samples.  We hadn’t ordered any sandwiches.  But the poor guy had been driving around the complex looking for somebody, anybody to take his free samples.  He said this office was the only place that had any cars outside of it and that’s why he stopped.

Then he said it again:  “They’re free.”

Now the women are all kind of looking around at each other in confusion, but I could feel this was definitely a Spirit thing.  And I’ve learned a long time ago when something like this happens, you just say thank you. So I asked him what he had for free.

Turns out, not only were there free samples, there was a variety.  In other words, choice.  So as everyone happily made their selection, I could feel the energy in the room expanding. The young man finished making his delivery, and we all proceeded to enjoy our free gift.

I wasn’t the only one that felt the specialness of this as we,  ten women who had come together to focus on Spirit for one day, sat around this conference table and broke bread together.

Maybe it was Spirit’s way of saying “Good job.” or maybe:  here’s some nourishment for your bodies, you’ve had plenty of nourishment for your souls today.  I do feel there is a connection with the appearance of the food and the story I had told earlier in the day about how I encountered a free double grande mocha coffee one time.  (Good story. Need to tell it here someday.)

But then again, maybe a gift is just a gift.  Thank you, Spirit.

If anything comes to you as you are reading this, I would be interested in hearing about it.

Explore. Dream. Discover. ~ Mark Twain

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie.  All rights reserved.

18 thoughts on “The Free Gift

  1. What I thought when I read your story is that Spirit is trying to show us that life is like a smorgasbord. If we don’t demand it, the source energy (sandwich man) provides each of us with the thing that we most desire, the thing that can satisfy our own unique tastes or needs…In other words, there is enough abundance in the universe that we can each enjoy our favorite sandwich.

    • That is absolutely true, and in alignment with what the message of this blog is. There is enough, there is MORE than ‘enough’ for everyone. Each according to their need…

  2. I too experienced that bodily reaction of tingles as I read this piece: my body recognized your story as truth.

    I am a big believer in synchronicity: Jung’s rose-chafer standing in (tapping at the window) as his patient described her dream of a golden scarab, for example. My favorite example of synchronicity, however, also involves food: wikipedia (succinctly) describes it: “The French writer Émile Deschamps claims in his memoirs that, in 1805, he was treated to some plum pudding by a stranger named Monsieur de Fontgibu. Ten years later, the writer encountered plum pudding on the menu of a Paris restaurant and wanted to order some, but the waiter told him that the last dish had already been served to another customer, who turned out to be de Fontgibu. Many years later, in 1832, Deschamps was at a dinner and once again ordered plum pudding. He recalled the earlier incident and told his friends that only de Fontgibu was missing to make the setting complete — and in the same instant, the now senile de Fontgibu entered the room.”

    What comes to me as I read is that you, as the teacher, were doing something for the good of the students– while these were all good students and eager to learn, teaching sometimes involves pushing your students past their boundaries. As a writing teacher, I have often experienced a similar experience when going over student drafts in a large group setting: yes, it is exhausting, but of course, you can learn a lot through WATCHING and observing feedback given to another person– you can always apply feedback given to another person to your own writing. That act, however, is exhausting– for the teacher AND the students. It takes tremendous focus and concentration to apply what the teacher is saying to the 15th student to your own draft!

    While I may be projecting here, I know that sometimes, the days my students learned the most were not the sexiest of days– they weren’t the days everyone left glowy and excited, feeling like we saved the world.

    Yet learning to write (and getting in touch with higher energies outside of our third dimensional bodies) does take sustained focus, attention. Paradoxically, it requires you to be very still, very quiet, very relaxed in your body– so you can release your body (if that makes sense.) Again, I’m speaking as a writer, not as a medium.

    Here’s what I’m getting at: if your body is not used to sitting still for long periods (and my students are NOT used to sitting still for long periods of time!), the need to move (to shuffle, to stir, to move books around or rustle notebook paper) becomes almost unbearable.

    Sensing this kind of activity from individuals within the larger group while I am focusing on another student makes me feel, at times, like a “bad” teacher: I have this misconception that the students must feel engaged at every second (so they feel like they are getting their money’s worth, so to speak?) Yet pushing them to their limits is, of course, perfectly appropriate in certain situations.

    At any rate (and this could be projecting, as I said earlier) I imagine that you were taking some responsibility for their exhaustion and/or boredom and/or restlessness.

    I think the sandwiches were an affirmation– to you as the teacher– and to the students who, despite their best efforts, perhaps were struggling to (understandably) to focus in the face of hunger and exhaustion.

    The sandwiches, perhaps, were a sign that all of that hard work was necessary, vital, important . . . and that if you put in that sacred time, your needs will be met.

    My life coach channels akashic records, and she told me once that when you channel, it is important to nourish your body (specifically, we were talking about me channeling my novel and my desire for sugar almost immediately after.) Bread is, of course, a complex and nourishing form of sugar.) So I’m liking this idea that when you do your work, the universe will provide you with the sustenance to keep on going– both your body AND Your spirit. The word that is coming to me is renewal. 🙂

    At any rate, despite the difficulties you all experienced doing your sacred work, you all left feeling glowy. And as the old teaching mandate says, students don’t remember what you taught them. What they remember, years and years later, is how you made them feel.

    Just a few thoughts from the woman attempting not to embody a pedagogy of the narcissist.

    • Oh, what a JOY! FINALLY somebody who is as ‘wordy’ as I can be with my comments sometimes! I LOVE IT! Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to lay this out this way for me. there is DEFINITELY a clue for me, personally, in the synchronicity story you relate, because of how sustenance in the form of what was needed at the time was provided in both instances. (One was 20 years ago, the other just this past weekend.)And yes there was some pushing going on. I wanted them to experience just how much energy and effort it takes to work with the energies of Spirit. It was my intention to push them.
      The ability to stay in the energy for a sustained period is not something that happens overnight, it must be worked up to. I will cop to having the thought cross my mind and I recognized it as a human level thought when it passed through, that maybe I was pushing too much, but feeling responsible for their state didn’t last long.
      What lights up the most in your reply is the following: “The sandwiches, perhaps were a sign that all of that hard work was necessary, vital, important…and that if you put in that sacred time, your needs will be met.”THAT feels like the message of the sandwiches for the group. I already totally understand that. Spirit has been supporting my efforts for many years now.
      I agree about the refueling need. I carry a lot of protein (in the form of chicken and protein bars and shakes) with me everywhere. It is like needing to keep the furnace stoked. Bread doesn’t work for me so much, because of how my body metabolizes it. Plus, gluten intolerance. Many people don’t realize the real work involved in running those higher frequencies. It does have an impact on the physical body. I could go on about THIS topic for quite awhile.
      Renewal. Yep. That fits.
      I very much enjoyed your thoughts. Absolutely not a single trace of being in love with your own reflection…Thank you for all the valuable input. Someday, when I’ve finished the time sensitive project I am working on at the moment, will come by and pay you another visit. So keep the porch light on. JM

  3. What an amazing story. I wonder if it was a gift for everyone but it was more of a gift for the ladies struggling with the exercise to encourage them to continue with their development and show them how positive affirmations can come true. Just a thought.

  4. I’m not sure I’m going to express this very well, but I think you’ll get my meaning: Because it happened, it had to be for you. If you can rephrase that back to me using the principles that you work with, please do 🙂

    • But, Paul, where the uncertainty lies for me is in the fact that there was a group of people involved here, so it happened to THEM, as well…is there more than one layer of insight to be had here? Perhaps that is why I am not able to read it clearly. Will sit with this awhile longer…any further help from your vantage point?

      • Maybe no ‘them’ and ‘you’, just One – you’d been working together at a higher level all day, and that can lift a group to a different level of unified consciousness (I’m sure I’m not telling you anything new here). Just a thought. Something was going on.

      • There was a definite feel of something for the group, but there was also a sense of ‘individual’ insight there, as well…I resonate with the comment about if you put in that sacred time, your needs will be met as the Message of the Sandwiches for the group. I am still anticipating the awareness I can feel is available to me around this situation. If I am to know, it will come…because, yes, SOMEthing was definitely going on there, and it was profound enough to actually change the energy in the room, and everyone felt it. I could see it in their faces.

  5. I agree with breaking bread and the meaning behind it. Not like samples of Chinese or pizza it was bread.

    • That is the part that really struck me, as well. It was mostly bread. And we all sat joyfully around that large conference table and gave thanks for the wonderful blessing, and the perfect ending to a pretty perfect day.

  6. Wow, that made my scalp tingle reading this! I feel it was a gift, and what was needed to nourish you all physically in balance with the spiritual nourishment you had received – a perfect gift at the perfect time. Blessings to you all.

    • And YOU just gave me goosies! Validation is a valuable tool, I have always said. I had a sense this was part of it, but reading it coming through your comment somehow made a difference. It certainly was a perfect gift. At the perfect time, as well. And blessings to you too.

  7. I was one of the ten ladies at this intuitive development class. Why would someone come to an office park on a Sunday trying to give away sandwiches? Office buildings are usually closed on weekends, especially on Sunday. Until this class I didn’t even know these buildings were back there! I think this was a validation from the Spirit that “yes”, this is something we should be doing to aid evolvement of our souls.

    • It was most definitely a Spirit thing. Thanks for being a part of that incredible experience. I have had some pretty amazing experiences, but the quiet magnificence of that afternoon delivery is a story I will add to my list of examples of Spirit at work.

Comments are closed.