The Difference Between Success and Failure

Perseverance

I got an important reminder from Spirit recently.  I thought I understood how to keep moving forward despite obstacles. I was wrong. I did not understand what it meant to persevere until I got this opportunity to grow in spiritual fortitude.

large group off standing stones

The stone people understand how to persevere.

The Bible speaks about perseverance in James 1: 2-4. Consider it pure joy, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Webster’s defines perseverance as “a continued effort to achieve something despite difficulties, failure, or opposition. Steadfastness. To persist in spite of counter-influences, opposition or discouragement.”

Northern side of Mount Shasta

Northern side of Mount Shasta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I recently participated in a gathering at Mount Shasta in California. Before I began the 4-day road trip to get there, I had spent the previous two months with a major writing project that had severely taxed my energetic reserves. The gathering was important, and I needed to bring a lot of extra anchors (large stones) that would have been very expensive to ship.

I had pictured things going much differently than they did. I did not have a clear sense about what my purpose or function was before the event, which was unusual especially for what was such a pivotal gathering.

Emotionally and energetically I got knocked down more than once by situations and people’s choices. I did what I always do, though, I got back up. I will confess that I almost stayed down on that mat after the hay  maker that I didn’t see coming.

I was told to return to Mount Shasta to complete the mission I perceived I had been given to do.  Since everything unfolded in the moment, there was never an opportunity to plan ahead, really. This was a challenge for me, and I have been following Spirit with focus and dedication for over two decades.

This assignment had the overlay of needing to work with others to get the job done. I am used to doing this work for Spirit on my own,so I had to dust off some people skills. Oops. Lacking.  I just follow the guidance I am given without thought of anything else.

I was down on that mat because I did not do what was necessary in the moment, and it was only my dogged intention to keep going until I could go no more that prompted me to get up again.

One last trip. One last time. I could do this one more time, but I could only try a third time with people I knew. I would not be able to try a fourth time. I had nothing left at this point.

Up the mountain. Job finally done. It wasn’t pretty, and it wasn’t how the higher Light Beings wished for it to unfold, but like me, they will do the best they can with what is available to them. I only pray it was enough.

I faced trials of many kinds that weekend. My faith was severely tested. I was able to see I had more strength inside me than I knew I had. Perseverance. Simple word. Tough to live it, though, but possible to do. Don’t give up. On the mission or on yourself.

Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards. ~ Soren Kirkegaard

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “The Difference Between Success and Failure

  1. [ Smiles ] Reminders are good and thank you for this one.

    Have a blessed October, Dear One!

  2. Dearest SisStar
    Our strength lies in our vulnerability. All was and is perfect, exactly as it is. You have learned to listen well to the voice of your Heart/Spirit – now just trust it completely, whatever it looks like. 🙂 J xx

Comments are closed.