Notes From My Road Less Traveled-Chapter 4

They Say You Can Never Go Home Again

Mount Rainier

Mount Rainier (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just returned from a road trip to the West Coast.  It was a long and winding road (what a great title for a song!) and I stopped at many familiar places along the way.  I had the chance to spend a couple of days with a friend I haven’t seen in over a decade.  I wondered if the connection would still be there.  It was.  We picked up right where we left off as if it were yesterday.  It is good to know that no matter how much time may pass, or how much distance may come between us, the bond we forged and the love we have for each other survives. And they say you can never go home again, but I would disagree with that assertion, at least sometimes.  For that brie visit, it was as if I had never left. I felt like I was home again.

Mount Rainier over Tacoma, Washington, USA.

Mount Rainier over Tacoma, Washington, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She drove me up to Mount Rainier and patiently stopped so that I could take pictures of the trees and the clouds.  We talked.  We reminisced.  It was good.  The hardest part of seeing her again was having to say goodbye.

I had the opportunity to drive past the house I lived in when I was awakened 22 years ago.  It had changed.  The neighborhood had changed.  In that instance, I couldn’t go back home, because that wasn’t “home” anymore. I left the Coast with my daughter, and we journeyed through many of the places we lived after my life – and hers – changed when I began to follow Spirit.

English: Beartooth Highway on the border of Mo...

English: Beartooth Highway on the border of Montana-Wyoming, USA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Bear's Tooth in the Baertooth Mountains, M...

The Bear’s Tooth in the Beartooth Mountains, Montana, U.S. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She had the chance to spend a day with her best friend in Wyoming while I drove through the little town of Red Lodge in the Beartooth mountains of Montana on my way to visit a couple of my first ‘students’. We had lived in this town for a few years so she could at least finish High School before we moved again. The young couple I went to visit were dating when they spent time sitting in a Spirit circle and asking questions all those years ago. They are now married with two beautiful children who will soon be teenagers. It seems like it was only a little while ago, but to see how their children have grown made it real how much time had passed since last we sat together.

As we left their home in central Montana, it was snowing. We drove down I-90 through snow for almost the whole day. When we came to Spearfish, SD, I got off and visited the grave site of a man I do not know nor have I ever met, but his spirit had called me into that cemetery over 15 years before when I was living in the Black Hills.

The Black Hills are marked by vistas of adjace...

The Black Hills (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have made offerings at the grave of Red Bear, WWII vet, every time I am in the area. I had not been there in over a decade, and thought I would be able to just pass by, but I could feel the strong pull to stop, so I did. I left an offering and some prayers, and continued the drive through the Black Hills heading south to visit a small town at the southern end of the Hills.

Inyan Kara, in the Black Hills is a sacred mou...

Inyan Kara, in the Black Hills is a sacred mountain to the Lakotah. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I felt the strong urge to drive by the little house nestled up against a hillside that I used to live in when I was there.Sometimes you can’t go home again. I took this as a sign from Spirit that there was no home for me in that area, that I was to keep looking.

We made our way back to I-90 and continued the drive East to Omaha where I began the reconnection to the present-day part of my life journey. We spent the night with a new friend who is well on her way to becoming as precious to me as my golden friend of old is. I am so blessed to have people in my life that are a constant. I don’t need many. A few solid ones will do.

There are some interesting energy things about the trip that I will share in another post, another day. This article is long enough as it is. I’m a little worn out, but I have a renewed sense of vision and purpose, even though I feel both can change at a moment’s notice. I am at peace.

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

