Morning Coffee – 10/13/2012

No Boundaries, Perhaps. Limits, Definitely.

Leipzig, coffee house "Zum Arabischen Cof...

Leipzig, coffee house. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Time for a few leisurely cups of coffee. I am being re-taught a lesson I must have forgotten. I must pay attention to the limits of this physical body.

I was gearing up to drive seven hours to a show this weekend, but as I loaded the car, I very clearly got the signal I know to mean “wrong way”. I was still pretty worn down from the recent three-week assignment, so it was relatively easy for me to just surrender to the reality that I need to rest and build up my reserves.

Alpine meadow at Paradise, Mount Rainier, Wash...

Alpine meadow at Paradise, Mount Rainier, Washington, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Surprise! I’m human. Although my Spirit is limitless, the vehicle through which the work gets done is finite. What an interesting dance we get to do here, a dance between those two extremes: the finite and the infinite. What an opportunity to experience both at the same instant. On the mountain at Shasta, and again on Mount Rainier, I was blessed with that simultaneous awareness. I am certain anyone who has had what could be classified as a mystical experience would understand what I am trying to articulate with mere words.

In that moment, everything becomes numinous, and the body disappears, yet one remains aware of its existence because the consciousness is centered there. Now I understand why people meditate. I get why people seek experiences with mind-altering substances.

I have mentioned here before that we need to seek balance in all things. I am going to give myself the gift of a cycle of rest before I move out in Service again.

To all who are over-exerting yourselves, pay attention and give yourself some time to recharge yourself before you discover you’re running on fumes, too. We are then no good to anybody, including ourselves. Until the next cup of coffee, be good to yourselves.

The beauty of a living thing is not the atoms that go into it, but the way those atoms are put together. ~ Carl Sagan

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – 10/13/2012

  1. We often ignore our physical limitations and sometimes even forget about them until something goes wrong. It’s too easy to take things for granted. But you’re right, sometimes our tanks just need a cool-down and some refueling.

    • It’s that balance thing, isn’t it? Mindfulness is something I am working on these days even more intensely than in the past. Thank you for taking the time to visit, and to comment here.

Comments are closed.