Morning Coffee 10/24/12

Dedication

a Caffè Mocha. with milk, Arabica Mocha espres...

A Caffè Mocha (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I came to write this morning’s cup, only one word resonated in my awareness: dedication. Well, all right then, the topic of this cup is dedication

Defined, dedication is the quality of being wholly committed to a particular course of thought or action; devoted.

A mother dedicates a significant portion of her life to her children. A pastor dedicates himself to his church. A student dedicates herself to a course of study. The level of dedication will determine in large part the outcome of the attempt.

I have observed varying levels of dedication on the spiritual path. For some, this is simply a new arena in which to play the same old games. For many, the start of a spiritual walk becomes the beginning of a life dedicated to the work of Spirit. For a very few, Spirit becomes the center of their lives to the exclusion of all else.

Over two decades ago, I dedicated my life to Spirit. I have not regretted a single moment of it. I do not know where I would be if I had not made this choice, but I do know I my life has been much richer for having made this choice. I have grown in ways I could not have otherwise. I am changed even to the core of my being. I am grateful for the struggles, the lessons, the gifts of incredible fellow travelers I have met along the way.

I do not know where this path will lead, but I am dedicated to it. Completely and utterly. There is no turning back.

Find something in your life to dedicate yourself to, something positive. Then set about doing what you need to do to pursue that. We all need a purpose in life, and by dedicating ourselves to something, purpose is found.

True strength lies in submission which permits one to dedicate his life, through devotion, to something beyond himself. ~ Henry Miller

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

