Morning Coffee – 11/2/12

Ruminations on Destiny and Fate

kava sa šlagom (tučenim slatkim vrhnjem), Crik...

Perhaps it’s the changing of the seasons and the cooler weather that is putting me in a more introspective mood this morning.  As I sip this morning’s cup, I find myself thinking about destiny and fate.

Though the words are sometimes used interchangeably, they really are not the same thing.  Fate.  The very sound of the word has a finality to it.  There is no choice.  We must accept the hand we have been dealt.

Destiny, on the other hand, speaks to a possible or probable outcome to a series of events and implies that the person or persons involved are actually participating in the outcome by the choices they make.

What destiny awaits us, individually and collectively? We cannot know for certain the outcome until after the events have worked themselves out. Sometimes it is overwhelming to contemplate the complexities of what is before us as a nation, as a planet.

Is it fate? Or is it destiny? I choose destiny. I choose, for in that choice lies my power to contribute to the trajectory our collective path will take. I do not feel so helpless then. Choose to take action that is in alignment with your highest principles, and remember that not choosing is also a choice.

Destiny is not a matter of chance; it is a matter of choice. It is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved. ~ William Jennings Bryant

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – 11/2/12

  1. I choose Destiny also Julie Marie, and its been a while I know since I dropped by for that much welcome cuppa and said hello.. You are not forgotten though and Im a great believer in ‘Signs’ being shown us along our pathway… and once we learn how to see and follow them those paths to our chosen destiny open us up even further to our lifes plan…

    Wishing you well……. Love Sue xx

    • Oh, Sue, good to see you here again. I do so enjoy (in joy) our interactions. I am almost caught up and will soon be able to roam among the blogs again, just in shorter spurts. Lots of new assignments are coming our way, I can feel it. For you, too, Sue…I just heard that very clearly. Blessings to you, dear one. JM

Comments are closed.