Christmas Day 2012

Challenge-Day Two

Illustration of "The Christmas Dinner&quo...

Illustration of “The Christmas Dinner”

The house is quiet. There’s no one else here to disturb the silence, and for the first time in many years, that is perfect. I am at peace. I have no place to be except right here, now. Fully present in the moment. Nothing to worry about, no travel plans to orchestrate, no Christmas dinner to assemble, no quarrels to quell.

I’d intended to suspend my writing efforts here for a week, but then I stumbled across the “Just Do It” weekly writing challenge while trying to find an answer to a WordPress question I still have. The only guideline was that I post something here for seven days, so I started with the article I posted yesterday. This challenge is a lovely way to end the daily posting regimen I’ve maintained here (mostly) for quite a while. Next year, there will be balance. I mean it. Really.

Writing, like Calgon bath salts, tends to carry me away. I have noticed that if I do not watch myself, the entire day can disappear into a whirling void of words and sentences and ideas inadequately expressed with clumsy prose. When I started this blogging thing almost a year ago, I didn’t think I’d last. I’ve been pleasantly surprised to discover that people are still reading what I write, and keep coming back for more. I see this as an indication that I’m  doing something right with this writing thing, even if it’s not always – well, hardly ever – perfect prose.

So this Christmas Day, I thank WordPress for being an accidental Santa Claus and for bringing me the gift of a reason to write some more words. Merry, merry, and happy writing to all and to all, well I guess I’ll see you tomorrow!

Ideas are like rabbits. You get a couple and learn how to handle them, and pretty soon you have a dozen. ~John Steinbeck

All original material posted to this site is (c)2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

