First Anniversary

All Because I Decided to Just Do It

Copy of a Dutch proverb in a manuscript writte...

This blog journey began for me 365 days ago, on December 26, 2011. I remember wondering if I’d even have enough to share to complete even half of the two hundred plus posts I’ve written since then. I can’t honestly count the announcements for postings on my other blog in the total, but some of the articles, especially the early ones, and the series, tended to be on the longer side, so I suppose I can safely say I’ve written more than 200 articles and not be deceptive.

I installed the counter in the sidebar because, surprise to me, the number of visits started climbing pretty rapidly for a while there. Though it has since tapered off a bit, it makes me smile because the almost 24,000 views means people are finding me, reading the words I’ve written, and then coming back to read some more. I am doing something right with this thing, and all I did was make the choice to begin.

The output here, all of it, the good, the not so good, the inspired and the not really interesting after all pieces exist simply because one day, in response to yet another person who said I needed to be writing, I started. I know there are things I can do better. I am working on that part of it. I also know there are some things I do well. I continue to work on those things too.

This blog is the result of choosing a name and a theme, and then sitting down on an almost daily basis and writing. Does it all get published? No. A lot of it goes in the trash, or the whole article gets deleted and I keep the title and start over. I have found it helpful to write a piece, let it sit a day or two, then look at it with fresh eyes. To get to the place where I have something to look at requires that I write something, anything, first. My encouragement to anyone else out there contemplating starting a blog would be: just do it.

You have nothing to lose, and you will learn so much about yourself in the process. I am constantly surprised by what I have been able to excavate through the discipline of writing, and I would not trade those valuable insights for anything. I say to you again: what have you got to lose? Just go ahead. Just do it.

Somewhere during the process of writing for this blog, I found myself being inspired in a new way, and I felt I needed a different venue for the messages I was receiving. That’s how  In the Company of Angels was born. Darn you, WordPress, for making it so easy to just start another blog. I want to do more with this other site which is why there will be an adjustment in the posting schedule here.

A wonderful side benefit of a WordPress blog are the vast assortment of awards available. They do make a wonderful addition to any of the WordPress themes that you may choose for yourself. Living by Intuition and Inspiration has received two of these awards in the past year: the Most Versatile Blogger Award on May 6th, and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award on May 16th.

I haven’t figured out how to put the lovely icons up in my side bar which is why nobody but me and the people who nominated me are even aware that the work here has been so honored. Thanks again to those who nominated me. It meant a lot, and was an impetus that kept me writing.

It has been gratifying to read the feedback, especially when I was writing about things I suspected were also happening to others. I thought I would not have enough to fill a year’s worth of blogging, but I have a notebook with pages of ideas I want to explore. I discovered I still have things I want to communicate.

I recognize the power of this blog to reach people I might otherwise never have the opportunity to connect with, and for that reason I shall continue to write here and on the other site. I look forward to continued connection with those who visit here. You’re the reason I keep writing.

Thank you for adding a level of richness to my life I didn’t even know I was missing.

To those who already write, especially those who, like me, have been lurking in the WordPress Daily Post challenge background, jump into the water. Go ahead. Just do it.

A small daily task, if it be really daily, will beat the labors of a spasmodic Hercules.       ~Anthony Trollope

All original material posted to this site is (c)2012, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “First Anniversary

Comments are closed.