Morning Coffee – White Out

Breakfast burrito og kaffe

In anticipation of the storm we’re in the middle of now, I went to the store to pick up a few things to tide me over as I had the feeling I wouldn’t be able to get out of my driveway this morning. I am glad I did.

What fascinated me was how busy the store was. All the checkers were busy, and they were calling up extra checkers from the produce and deli departments.

I had the ingredients for a big pot of chicken soup and some egg whites in my basket.  The man in line just in front of me had three cases of soda and some bread in his basket. The woman in front of him had mostly bags of chips and some candy bars. I passed a woman carrying two gallons of boxed wine and nothing else, and that is what got my attention.

I started really looking at what all these people were putting in their baskets in preparation for the storm, and what I noticed was there were more baskets full of non-foods than baskets of things that would nourish the body. I observed that the older the shopper, the more likely to be real food in their basket. I will note that I took the last two quarts of egg whites off the shelf, so there were others besides myself taking some essentials out of the store.

I woke up to a world of white everywhere, and still snowing here. The power is going out all over the area, so I am going to finish this cup of coffee and going to get some of those egg whites cooked up before I possibly lose power here, too.

I am grateful that I am safe and warm inside my house. I pray that all the thousands without power are not long without it.

The view out the window is beautiful, though. No breaks in the blanket of white.  All that will likely change when the snow stops and the shoveling begins, but for now I will sit here and sip my coffee and take in the beauty of it all.

All original material posted here is (c)2013, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

