Morning Coffee – Dichotomies

English: I love it when they swirl the foam. M...Here is a contemplative cup of coffee for you this morning. Maybe it’s because the weather here is so not Spring-like. I shoveled snow off the driveway again a few days ago, and was very aware of the full-throated birdsong that accompanied that task. It is as if the birds are working overtime trying to call forth the energies of Spring.What a jarring juxtaposition of energies, winter’s cold snow and spring’s loud bird song.

The trees are just starting to bud out, and now their limbs are covered with snow. I don’t know what I am more grateful for: the fact the snow was only 6 or 7 inches’ worth this time and it only took part of my day to clear the drive or that I didn’t have to be thinking about mowing the lawn because it’s covered with snow.

The situation with the weather here is a perfect reflection of what is going on in the world. I can feel a sense of excitement and anticipation in the air, so I know ‘Spring’ (a time of newness and fresh growth) is in the offing, but I’m still shoveling snow off the driveway and I had to pull the winter coat and gloves back out because I thought the last storm we had was the last storm of the season.

English: Neighbor shoveling snow from their dr...The dichotomy is striking, and I have the awareness that in the midst of what appears to be winter still, Spring is also there. Or maybe I should say that while Spring is definitely on its way, there is still some snow shoveling that needs to be done. For awhile, we will need to remember to stay focused on the signs of Spring while still bundled in our winter coats shoveling snow off the driveway.

Blackbird (Turdus merula), singing male. Bogen...There is some wisdom to the suggestion to be prepared for anything. Don’t put that coat and those gloves away just yet! But stay hopeful. The trees are beginning to bud,and the flowers will start to bloom soon.

The birds are singing. Can you hear them?

All original material posted to this site is (c)2013, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credits: Wikipedia

8 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – Dichotomies

  1. Hi Julie, I have been watching the birds collecting for their nests, the blackbirds tend to go for evergreens but the sparrows like the hawthorn and it is not even in bud yet!! Makes me wonder if they are a little confused….bless them.
    On another tack….Just been on the phone with a friend and whilst we were talking he asked “Have you always been an optimist?” Not something I have thought about really but yes I have….what is the point of being anything else…just a thought!!
    Take care and hope the shovelling comes to an end soon!!
    Love and light
    Sandie

    • Was hoping my gentle analogy would foster the spirit of optimism in others. I can feel the energy of Spring rising, and it is good. I agree about staying focused as much as possible on the positive side of things. I think I can safely retire the shovel…but will be keeping it close just in case. 🙂

  2. Reminded me of the passage from Albert Camus – “In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer…”

    • I hoped that would be what this post would generate: stay focused on the “Spring” or the invincible Light of summer within. That’s a great way to put it. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.