City Mouse to Country Mouse (Again)

Wenceslas Hollar - Town and country mouse 2Already I can feel the difference.  I can feel my chest beginning to relax.  It’s almost as if the shields that I didn’t even know were there are starting to come down.  I’m in a little town.  By “little”, I mean no stop lights.  Not one.

There’s still a lot to do before I am settled in, but I can tell you it feels better every day.  There are some tradeoffs for this kind of peace.  Instead of 4 miles from the nearest organic food source, I am now 34 miles from organic food.  But that’s why God made freezers.

English: CSA share

Here, I will have the opportunity to buy a membership in Community Supported Agriculture program which will give me pretty much  unlimited vegetables for the summer. I also want to experiment with a small square foot garden out  in back of the house just to brush up on my veggie growing skills. It’s my intention to consume larger quantities of fresh vegetables and this is definitely the time of year to cultivate (no pun intended) that habit.

There are some stark differences between my last place and this town that were apparent right away as I went about my errand-running today. I needed to procure a new post box, get the utilities turned on, establish garbage service, all that stuff. Pay this deposit and that activation fee. Oh, and do a quick load of laundry because I left my aging washer/dryer in the grateful hands of a young man just setting up house. Spirit guided, so there you go.

The laundromat isn’t that far from the house, and is virtually empty in the middle of the day in the middle of the week. I may just coast along until the weather gets really bad without a set. The walk would do me good, and I can take a book along to read while I wait for the clothes to get clean.

As I walked around town, strangers spoke to me as if they knew me. They smiled. They bantered. They looked me in the eye when I talked to them. If they passed me on the street, for the most part they said ‘hello’. I’ve not been here long, but it feels like forever.

The street is quiet at night. No barking dogs to keep me awake. No deep subwoofers thumping and waking me from a sound sleep. The birds congregate on the wires in back of the house and begin their chorus of chirping just before the sun comes up.

I am playing country music on my car radio because it just seems to fit. I haven’t listened to country music in almost a decade. I have lived in small towns before this one, but none like this one. I cannot yet put my finger on it, but this  time it’s different. I’ll keep you posted.

I know home can be anywhere, and I have been willing to follow where ever it was Spirit led me, but I am grateful that I was led here, now. It’s going to take me awhile to break the habit of feeling I need to build a fortress around myself in order to feel safe.

And did I mention there’s no traffic? Well, some, but not near the volume I’ve had to plow through in the big city. No story on the news every few nights about a shooting or a kidnapping or a break-in or worse. I will say I have noticed a lot of flyers about domestic violence, though. All is not Heaven in this paradise. I am sure life is hard here, but I also have a strong sense that people help one another out.

I know my neighbors have certainly been there for me since I got here, but that is another story for another day. For now, I’m going to enjoy making this adjustment. I can’t wait to see what happens to the Spirit work I do once the stress moves out of my energy field. Maybe there will be more writing on IntheCompanyofAngels. I have felt them over the past few weeks, but they have just been patiently waiting for the right time to come forward again.

To change one’s life: 1. Start immediately. 2. Do it flamboyantly. 3. No exceptions. ~William James

All original material posted to this site (c) 2013, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

6 thoughts on “City Mouse to Country Mouse (Again)

  1. Wow Julie, sounds as if you made the right move, so good to know you are settling in and your neighbours sound very friendly.. Hope the project with the gardening goes well.. … Pleased the stress levels lowered … Love and light ~Sue

  2. Aho. Read a beautiful passage not long ago referring to the midwest – how the people there often live close to the land and carry great gentleness of heart. Perhaps that is what now draws me back. There is such beauty in a pair of clear eyes gazing straight back into yours, a solid handshake and a deep-rooted voice that says “Welcome.”

    Enjoy this well-deserved change of pace, and may you, your new home and all your relatives be blessed. _/\_ mcb

    • Mitakuye Oyasin. I have the sense the Heart is calling a number of us to such places now. Will be interesting to see where we are being (collectively) led. And may the same blessing be sent your way. May your Journey, where ever it leads you, be a safe one, Mary.J

      • Thank you, Julie Marie. Interesting timing – my next step is Boston, leaving in the morning, packing now, after my last day at work today. Headed to KC after the northern leg is over. Don’t know what I’m to do there, other than simply be, and that may be enough, but one thing I’ve learned in life – I’m at my best in times of emergency – when others panic, I go into a very-good-in-emergency mode (it’s all the *normal* life I’m still trying to figure out :D). Much love, and thank you for all you do, and most importantly, for who you are. _/\_

      • Just keep on doing what comes next, and all will be well, Mary. You will end up where you need to be. You are appreciated for your willingness and your work, as well. JM

Comments are closed.