Morning Coffee – How Can I Fit It All In?

There’s a nip in the air, so a warm cuppa is the order of the day today. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how busy people – and I am including myself here – are these days. I miss the protracted periods of quiet that  were the norm for me until just a few weeks ago. A shift in focus, and a major transition, have stolen much of this quiet, contemplative time from me and I am beginning to feel the effects of that.

English: Stillness of the morningI have found myself asking of late: How can I fit it all in? How can I stay connected to Spirit when there is so much of this material world clamoring for my attention now?

I thought I’d share the answer I was given: Step up your efforts to maintain your connection. Make the time. The challenge you are experiencing now is but a test of your determination.

OK. I can accept that. Now, what actions can I take to achieve this goal? I will go back to the basics. Spirit comes first. I will make certain that I consciously connect in the stillness daily, even if it is only for a moment.

As with anything, I can remember that 5 minutes is better than no minutes. I can slow down, and remember to breathe and calm myself, especially when I feel the overwhelm begin to, well, overwhelm me.

A close up view of a traffic light illuminatin...I can remember that the stillness I seek lies within me, and is there for me to tap into if I would but remind myself of this Truth.

A few moments’ pause underneath an old tree as I am out on my walk. A couple of deep, relaxing breaths as I wait at a stop light. A short prayer as I wait in line at the store. I can look around and find something to be grateful for in that moment, and give silent thanks for that thing.

I must remember the state of my consciousness is a matter of choice, and that this choice is one that can be made anew every moment of every day. The more attention I pay to the state of my awareness, the better I become at being able to maintain a balanced state of being.

That’s my cup for today. Short. Black. Sweet. Coffee cup’s empty. Now go have a glorious day. I know I will.

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2013, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credits: Wikipedia

 

2 thoughts on “Morning Coffee – How Can I Fit It All In?

  1. Perfect. And amazing, really is something in the air, as we all seem to be having these major scheduling changes, from 0 to 60 in less than a minute (and here I thought I was the only one). Went from having lots of quiet time over an unemployed summer to having so many things to do I can hardly keep up with it (but all things I WANTED and am EXTREMELY grateful for, I should add! Like a part-time job – and I got accepted to a mediation training program – super excited about that!) – and trying to maintain that balanced place of peace. Thanks for the timely reminder that in the midst of all we are blessed with to DO – we can still BE. Namaste —

    • What an opportunity we have to master going with the flow of where the energy leads us. The stage is set. The players are all here. Curtain is getting ready to go up. Places, please…

Comments are closed.