It Was the Morning of the First Day

Life happened. I apologize for the long delay between these installments. I’ve actually lived another, profound chapter of this very story since last I wrote here. And now, as they used to say in the old days, back to our story…

Let the Games Begin

The first exercise seemed innocent enough. We did a short drumming and then drew a picture of whatever came to mind when we came out of it. I worked with the person who was sitting close by. I didn’t notice who my daughter worked with. When we were back in the room at the end of the day, she did mention that she’d told a woman something and that the person had reacted in a strong way. I wasn’t paying attention because I was tired from the long journey to get to the workshop. The brief lapse in attention would turn out to be pivotal, but I didn’t understand this until after the adventure was over.

We shared in circle, and crow medicine made a first appearance. There was a flock of them. Many people had crow medicine, or were introduced to crow medicine this first day. Crow came into my life under unusual circumstances, but that is a story for another day. I ran from crow for years, until I finally surrendered to the medicine of crow, and the patient invitation I received from the Crow nation.

One of the best books on animal totems is Animal Speaks by Ted Andrews. Some of the most important things – things also relevant to this story – that he says about crow is that the crow has a certain aura of magic, of mystery about them. Black is the color of creation, of the Great Mother.

CrowbywaterCrow has a dominant place in many mythologies. One of their primary qualities, in addition to their intelligence, is their watchfulness. When one is traveling between the worlds, what better companion can we have than crow?

As I re-read Ted’s words about crow, I come across a sentence I’ve underlined in my very dog-eared copy of  the book: “Crows have long been considered magical, and my grandfather once told me how even finding a dead crow was a sign of good luck.” Well now, I forgot that little piece of information.

Wherever crow visits, there is magic. The crow is a messenger calling to us about the energy of creation and magic that is alive in our world every day. Crow started on the first day here, calling us  all – if we had the eyes to see it, the ears to hear it – to the magic that can be accessed whenever humans gather in groups with a sacred purpose.

This was such a group, and I for one at least, was there for a sacred purpose, I just didn’t understand it at the time.

We made another journey that first morning, and then it was time for lunch. In the afternoon, we journeyed to find an afterlife guide for our journeys.

akhenatenandhisfamilyI was most interested that my journeys, no matter where we were to travel as a group, tended to have a distinctly Egyptian flavor to them. That was not the focus of the workshop, but it was where I kept going, and I had no control over it. By the middle of the second day, with this distinctly Egyptian theme continuing, I began to have the sense that something was going on. These ‘off the reservation’ trips I kept taking seemed to have a purpose. It was almost as if it were being orchestrated from another level, by a higher consciousness if you will.

I surrendered to the process, but was distracted by the drama that seemed to unfold at the human level of things. While I was moving through the experience, I was often confused and distressed by what transpired. Every day, every night, I asked for guidance, for clarity, for I know that if we are to understand something, then the Universe will bring us that gift.

If I had one traveler’s tip for you fellow seekers of Truth, it would be this: Just live through the experience to the best of your ability. Remain aware. Take advantage of every moment, noting as much as you can about the circumstances, for you know not what will be important to your understanding later.

And don’t forget to rewind the experience a few times. You will often find you glean more insight in the process.

Life is an opportunity, benefit from it. ~Mother Teresa

All original material posted to this site is (c) 2014, Julie Marie. All rights reserved.

Photo credits: Wikipedia

                    .

