Morning Coffee – Archetypal Patterns

Cafe_ViennoisTime for a warm, frothy cup. There is a chill in the air this morning, and the heat of the coffee in my cup warms my fingers.   I was speaking with someone yesterday, scheduling an appointment. In the course of the conversation, the person said: ‘But aren’t you going to be spending Wednesday (the day before Thanksgiving) cooking for everyone?’

I replied that my family was on the West Coast, so no, I would not be busy at the stove that day, and then finished our conversation.

When I woke up this morning, I found myself still thinking about this exchange. Archetypal patterns are created and sustained by the mass consciousness. This one is a relatively new one, I suspect, as Thanksgiving is a ‘holiday’ that is only a couple of centuries old. Do old archetypal patterns just fade away, to be replaced with the new ones, or are they layered one on top of the other? That is the question I will be pondering today.

As humans, our lives are influenced by these patterns whether we realize it or not. When we dream, we work with these patterns. We live our lives according to these patterns. Are you a hero? A goddess? A poet or mystic? A victim or a visionary? All of these are archetypal patterns, expressed in how we choose to live our lives, and manifesting in various ways in our dreams.

How can we change our world? By actively working with the archetypal patterns that form the matrix of our collective consciousness. The archetypes cannot change, but as humans, we can. The archetypes are dependent upon us to do the work to bring new patterns of awareness to the collective. If it is so easy to create a new pattern such as the one that manifested in the conversation with this person, then we can create a new world for ourselves. First step: becoming conscious that we have this ability.

Cup’s empty, so that’s the end of my random ramblings for today. Thanks for stopping by.

Jung was absolutely right. We are occupied by gods.                               ~Michael Ondaatj

All original material posted to this site (c)2015, Julia Marie. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Morning Coffee – Archetypal Patterns

  1. Hi Julia
    So lovely to connect with you. Just received your gift on Thanksgiving day ~ wow what a bolt out of the blue.
    Love your blog .
    I am so grateful to have you in my life and thank you for a wonderful surprise . It really made my day.
    Lots of love to you.

Comments are closed.